Queenly historian David Starkey, who will grace (if that is the right word) our television over the holiday period with his view of the House of Windsor manages, in trying to smear Her Majesty with Nazi tendencies, only to demonstrate what a poor historian he is.

The Guardian, which ought but is incapable of knowing better, reports La Starkey’s egregious comments on Her Majesty’s artistic tastes thus:

“I think she’s got elements a bit like Goebbels in her attitude to culture,” the historian told the Guardian. “You remember: ‘Every time I hear the word culture I reach for my revolver.’

When Starkey was showing the Queen round an exhibition he had curated about Elizabeth I in 2003, he found her more preoccupied with the late arrival of her drink (Gin and Dubonnet) than the works on display. Her only comment on the exhibition was that one of the objects was hers.

Our famous historian in his anxiety to smear the Queen has doubly misattributed the quote which is often rendered as:

When I hear the word culture, I reach for my Browning!


This is usually attributed to Göring, who might have used such lines and would, one is sure, have been pleased at the attribution. But the quote is in fact derived from the play Schlageter by Hanns Johst:

“Wenn ich Kultur höre … entsichere ich meinen Browning!”

[Whenever I hear of culture… I release the safety-catch of my Browning!]

The play was first performed in April 1933 for Hitler’s birthday.

In the circumstances Her Majesty could be forgiven upon hearing the word ‘culture’ drop from this little shit’s mouth for reaching for her Gin & Dubonnet.

Still, in two hundred year’s time schoolchildren will, one hopes, be taught of the reign of Elizabeth II, with its ups and downs, and of her long role as our Sovereign which she has managed so well.

Of David Starkey, on the other hand, their history lessons will be utterly silent.

COMMENT THREAD

