Regular visitors will have spotted that over recent days my blog has undergone a number of radical changes. Out has gone the comfortable but somewhat worn Ratting Jacket (the one with leather elbow patches) to be replaced by a smart new hunting jacket of Rifle Green.

What is happening, you may ask? And where are the comfortable carpet slippers?

Well, I am proud to say that I have been invited to join an exciting new blogging project, the Umbrella Blog, which has over recent days soared into cyberspace under the command of Dr. Richard North, co-editor of EU Referendum.

Visit the new site where you will find out more about this innovation and the links to a group of first-class blogs all of which will give you a different view through the prism from that which you might find in the Main Stream Media.

Coming on top of Iain Dale’s kind selection of my modest efforts as “6th. Best Newcomer” for his 2007 Guide to Political Blogging (see here), this has been an enormous boost to me and will now encourage me to make my contributions sharper and better. I am most honoured to be invited to take part and hope that I will have something to offer in developing this idea as the next step forward in blogging.

Fellow bloggers to whom I have had links in the past may not yet see their link here. I am still a ‘work in progress’ to some extent and so ask to be forgiven for your non-appearance just yet. I shall be resuming normal service ASAP.

