As a Barrister I am unrepentant in my view that our Court Dress of Gowns and Wigs is an essential element for establishing the seriousness and importance of the proceedings taking place, whether this be in a criminal or a civil court (where, it should be borne in mind, for breaching injunctions people can be jailed for long periods).

Thus I am heartened by this letter in today’s Daily Telegraph:


Sir – I have just completed jury service in Portsmouth Crown Court. My fellow jurors and I were in strong agreement that the wigs and gowns of the judge and barristers added to the dignity and seriousness of the proceedings.

I am at a loss to understand the proposal to scrap them for civil actions. Does this imply that civil actions are less important than criminal cases?

Deborah Moore, Lee on Solent, Hampshire

